Skip to content

aiza ny kabone?

amber's in madagascar for 27 months

my chicken

Hey so first of all my camera was stolen so pictures will be few and far in between until I figure something out. To be clear DO NOT MAIL a camera. I am 117% sure it would be stolen. In the meantime you can enjoy some chicken murder photos.  I received the chicken pictured above as a Happy New Year gift from the staff at the house/compound where I live.  I fattened it for a week.  That chicken was good I ate it on tortillas. To be clear, you may mail tortillas. But after my last post I went on the site visits I had mentioned. It was a really great trip – I got to see sites that I would never have gone to (either because I didn’t really know the volunteer or the road was just miserable). I learned some interesting things about other PC sites and people during my trip. For example, the PC staff member I went on the trip went is really awesome at making cheese, and some volunteers are interesting in creating some sort of AA in their communities (alcohol is a huge problem here). Another volunteer wants to start an income generating cheese production organization and another volunteer is about to be in a documentary with the silk organization she works with. The trip was really interesting to see how so many volunteers’ sites within such a small section of Madagascar are so different.

But the fun riding around in a fancy 4×4 NGO car eating homemade cookies is over, and I am back in Fianarantsoa (where people steal my nice old camera). Back in Fianar when I am not doing work I watch movies with people who are in town. Another lady vol was in town and we watched a terrible chick flick and it was just awful. The reason I bring it up though is because the movie had so many “American” things in it and it freaked us out a little bit. We also gained a bit of perspective into why so many people think we are all rich fancy folks though. Nothing else is going on really. I am starting to work more at my new site and am currently planning a conference with another volunteer about, you know, casual stuff, like HIV/AIDS, health, the environment, life skills and how to teach this to students (and the people we will teach are teachers and we should probably use Malagasy). So I am not stressed at all. Next Tuesday I start private French lessons and that will actually be stress free and hilarious.

A few more random thoughts. First, there is this whole Ryan Gosling tumblr meme that I don’t quite understand the origins of because I live in Madagascar. But as someone who studied international development and lives in this country I really like http://developmentryangosling.tumblr.com/ because I do understand the jokes. For example, the January 21st post I appreciate because I have been connecting different volunteers recently who have talked to me about getting more information on starting VLSs in their communities. Man they all make me laugh. Second, I will get around to updating photos in a few days so stick around. Third, would anyone be angry if I came back to the states for a month or two then bounced to Asia? Thoughts?

apple crumble

Last, and most importantly, APPLES, PINEAPPLES, PEARS, AVOCADOS, PERSIMMONS, PLUMS, GRAPES, PEACHES are all in season or starting to be. I am lamenting the loss of lychees and mangoes though, my last season with them.

